Vehicle Purchase Agreement Michigan
For a vehicle to travel legally on Michigan roads, it must be registered and insured to drive in the state. One way or another, you must register your vehicle within 15 days of buying or purchasing a vehicle. If you shop at a dealer, they will do your titling and check-in for you. If you buy from a single individual, the responsibility is yours to ensure that the titling and registration of the vehicle are completed. Both will take place at the same time and in the same place. The Secretary of State recommends that buyers and sellers visit an SOS office together for this process. Michigan sales vouchers are forms used to document the sale of vehicles, boats, firearms or other personal items in the state of Michigan. While invoices for sale are not required by law to prove the purchase in Michigan, it is still highly recommended that you create one if you sell high quality items (such as a car) to protect you in the event of a dispute. In some cases, your Michigan sales slip must be notarized before being signed and formalized by the buyer and seller. The standard details above, go ahead and describe the vehicle for sale in detail. Include the VIN, the model, the manufacturing, the year, the mileage value and the colour.
Although it is not required for vehicle registration after the sale, be sure to complete the mileage meter disclosure statement for your protection. To award the title, the seller must update the title with a precise mileage meter read by the vehicle, the date of sale and the sale price. Once this information is complete, the seller simply signs the title, collects the asking price and the sale is completed. The owner of the vehicle must show up in person to obtain an immediate title service. The owner cannot name an agent for an instant transaction. If there are two owners of a vehicle, both owners must present themselves in person for the immediate title service. In the event of a double title transaction, if two owners are present in the title dataset, simply display a single owner and sign the title application. An appointment with the agent is not necessary for the other owner. Both owner names are displayed on the double title.
Odometer Disclosure Statement (form BVDR-108) – Allows the new owner to certify that the vehicle`s mileage is correct. It is also necessary to register with a local office of secretaries of state. Under Michigan law, a seller is not liable for damages or violations resulting later from the purchaser`s use of the vehicle property if the owner makes proof of the sale as shown above. In Michigan, penalties for perjury declarations are not included in SOS documents, including those dealing with the sale and registration of vehicles and vessels. McL al. 423 al. 1: “Any person authorized by that state statute to take the oath or any person whose oath is prescribed by law who deliberately swears erroneously in relation to any case or cause that is respected, is guilty of perjury, an offence punishable by a prison sentence of at least 15 years.” The Michigan Secretary of State does not request a sales form when buying or selling a vehicle. Instead, the seller transfers the right of the vehicle to the buyer.